Student Letters: Meet Mei!

It’s time this week for SAE’s student letters featuring one of our Spanish students – Mei! Mei is originally from China but lives with her family in Spain. She’s outdoorsy and loves her older brothers, and we think she’s an all around sweet kid! Every week, we feature one or two student letters of kids applying to our program for the upcoming school year. It’s a great way to learn more about a student and find out if he or she is a good fit for your family! You can meet all of our students on our photolisting and submit a FREE application to receive a photo album and video for any of the kids in the program.

Student Letters: Meet Mei

student letters

Dear host family,
Hello, my name is Mei and I would like to describe and introduce myself with this letter. I decided I wanted to live in the US for a year with a host family because I think it’s a great opportunity to practice and learn a lot of English, to know more about other cultures and adapt to different lifestyles. I think I’m going to gain more independence with this exchange too. I’m sure this year is going to be a unique experience.

I would like you to know something about my family, so I’m going to talk you about it. I was born in China, but I’ve lived in Spain all my life. We are five family members. I have two brothers, Juan and Guillermo, and both of them are older than me, they are 23 and 25 years old. My brother Juan goes to university and he’s studying Informatics Engineering. Although he hasn’t finished the career yet, he is a football coach. He trains children around 10 years old Guillermo doesn’t live with us as he has a flat in another city where his job is. He works in human resources. My mother is midwife in a hospital. She’s a very loving person and very kind. My father works selling electronic products to hospitals. He usually almost always has a smile on his face and he can be really stubborn when he wants.

Talking about me, I am 14 years old. I consider myself hardworking in most of the times (when I’m not I can be lazy) and generally responsible. If you asked someone how I am they would probably tell you that at first I can be shy, but when we meet well I open myself much more. Then I’m more talkative and sociable. People also say I’m optimist. I’m curious, so I like to learn something new. I try to be kind, polite and amusing because they are important qualities for me. I’m creative and artistic. Besides, I love drawing and painting. When I don’t have anything to do I enjoy my time listening to music and reading. One thing I really like is watching movies and series. The sports I like the most are skiing and surfing. I go skiing almost every winter weekends in
the mountains of the Pyrenees. When I stop skiing I go surfing to the beach in a surf school.

Currently, I’m in 9th grade of junior high school. At school, I speak four languages: English, French, Basque and of course, Spanish. I neither have any favorite subject nor one I like less. I think the contributions I can offer being in an American family are teaching languages, showing my culture, my lifestyle!

I am looking forward to meeting you and I’m already excited about the time I’ll spend with you. I’m glad that I’m going to be part of your family as a member. I hope I hear from you soon! Many thanks for choosing me to live with you and want to take care of me.

Sincerely yours,

Mei

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *