Student Letters: Meet Marta!

It’s time this week for SAE’s student letters featuring one of our Spanish students – Marta! Marta talks about how much she loves to spend time with her family and that some day, she hopes to grow up to do something creative. Every week, we feature one or two student letters of kids applying to our program for the upcoming school year. It’s a great way to learn more about a student and find out if he or she is a good fit for your family! You can meet all of our students on our photolisting and submit a FREE application to receive a photo album and video for any of the kids in the program.

Student Letters: Meet Marta!

student letters

Dear family,

My name is Marta, I’m 14 years old and I consider myself quite a cheerful, happy, active and responsible person.

I love doing sports, especially water sports as well as going out with my friends. I am in a basketball team, in fact I’ve been playing basketball about four years. In this team I have made really good friends, my best friends play with me in the school team. I’m proud of saying that last year we were the runner ups in the schools’ league in my city. I also play paddle tennis, I’ve been playing paddle tennis for three years. I decided to take it up I learnt to play tennis for the previous four years. As I mentioned, I love water sports like surfing and canoeing. That’s something I do every summer, whenever I go on vacation with my family to the south of Spain, and when I had the opportunity to enjoy a summer camp in the north of Spain, a beautiful place where I could enjoy the greatest waves I have ever seen. However, this doesn’t mean that I don’t have time to study, in fact it helps me organize my study time much better and make the most of the time I have for it.
We are four in my family. My mother Mayte, who works as a maths teacher in the school where I go. She loves sports as well, she plays paddle and swims, which makes me enjoy precious moments with her as we sometimes play together. She is cheerful, responsible and has a good sense of humour. I can’t imagine my life without her. My father’s name is Adolfo, he works as a Computer Manager in an IT company. He loves paddle tennis, computers and everything related to electronic devices. He’s got a great sense of humour and he’s the most generous and friendliest person I have ever met. One of his greatest passions is dogs. He’s always had dogs at home and he’s the reason why we have a fifth member of the family, our dog Bruno. But first I would like to say something about my brother Alejandro, to whom I usually call Alex. He’s 12 years old, he studies in the same school as I do. He’s a very calm, lovely and tender boy whose passion is technology and cars. We’ve grown together and it has made us inseparable. The fifth member of our family, as I said before, is called Bruno. He arrived in our lives two years ago and now we can’t imagine our house without that lovely Spaniel. I also love the rest of my family, my aunts and uncles and all my cousins, with whom I enjoy very much.

I’m quite a studious person. I have some favourite subjects, which are Biology, P.E. and Arts and Crafts. I also enjoy English, Maths and French. My school is the place where I spend seven hours a day but most importantly, the place where I’ve met my best friends and which has given me some of the most beautiful experiences in my life. I am pleased for the teachers I’ve had along these years and for all the things that I’ve learnt.

I don’t know yet what I want to study in the future as it seems to me quite far away. However, taking into account my personality and likes, I have been thinking of studying Marine Sciences or Architecture. I am a creative and curious person and with these degrees I feel I can create something or help both people and animals, especially with the first one. I’m sure I want to travel in the future, I would like to do the “Inter Railway”, which is a train that travels round Europe and offers cheaper prices to young people. I think it would be a fantastic experience and the perfect chance to travel with friends, practising languages and knowing people, places and new cultures at a cheap price.

In the last few years I have had the opportunity to travel on my own, usually to do courses or different sport activities or summer activities. I have learnt a lot with these activities. However, I believe it’s the time to go further. Travelling to the USA and studying there has always been my dream. It’s not only the experience of studying there, which I consider very important for my future, but also the fact that I could stay with a different family from mine, that I will be able to speak English at home, at school and in many different situations. I sometimes feel I need to know more about that great country, about its people, its customes, its culture, and all the unknown stuff that is difficult to know without living there. I know it would be an unforgettable experience in my life and the best I can do to learn and improve my English, which will be very important in my life.

Best regards and thank you for this opportunity.

 

 

Marta

Check out Marta’s profile on our photolisting to read a letter from his parents and meet all of our students from abroad. If you’re interested in learning more about becoming a host family, reach out to one of our Program Coordinators at info@saeglobal.org and ask us about hosting Marta!

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you! Please fill out this form and we will get in touch with you shortly.
  • I'm a Host Family, Student, or Recruiter.

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *