Student Interviews: Meet Curt!

It’s been so fun receiving exchange student applications and looking at the wonderful group of students we are placing for the 2018-2019 academic year! In addition to the applications they submit, we conduct interviews with each student over Skype to get to know them and learn more about them. Each kid is different in their own way, and interviews are the perfect time for them to shine! Learn more from our interview with Curt, below!

Student Interviews: Meet Curt!

Meet Curt Exchange Student from China


Curt is a laid back student who wasn’t afraid to show his enthusiasm for drumming!

Q: Tell me about yourself

A: I am 17 years old and I’m an only child. I have many hobbies such as football and drumming. I have been drumming for over 10 years, but maybe I wouldn’t be considered a good drummer in America because America has a lot of good drummers.


Q: What is your favorite color?

A: I love gray! It’s my lucky color. (He was wearing a gray shirt during our video interview with him)


Q: Are you ready to participate in host family life?

A: I have built and made relationships and friendships before, so I think this is good for me to build a relationship with my host family when I’m in the US.


If you’d like more information on hosting Curt, reach out to a Program Coordinator at! You can also visit our photolisting to see more about Curt or any of the other exchange students.

Read More

Meet Ana from Spain

Meet Ana from Spain! She’s a high school exchange student who’s in need of a host family for the 2018-2019 academic school year. Ana is excited for the opportunity to study in the US and learn about American culture. Read below to get to know Ana!

Can you tell us about yourself?

“My name is Ana, and I am 14 years old. My family and friends describe me as an independent, happy, friendly, a bit shy at first sight, generous, competitive, perfectionist, and sportive person.”

Can you tell us about your family?

“I have two younger brothers, and sometimes I take care of them. We have different personalities. I am calmer than them, and I am more independent.”

Why do you want to study abroad in the US?

“I would like to live in the USA one year because I want to improve my English and have a lot of good experiences there. I want to be part of an American family because some people told me that you can enjoy the experience more. I have chosen the USA because people are open-minded, and I like the hospitality the Americans have.”

What type of hobbies do you have?

“I enjoy a lot going out with my friends and doing different things. I do a lot of sports, I love it. I play basketball (I am the team captain), paddle tennis, I ride horses, and in the winter time I go skiing with my family. In the summer, I love to go to the beach. I also love to listen to music, go with my friends to take photos, cook dessert, and go to Madrid downtown.”

Do you have any plans for the future?

“My plans for the future are to continue studying and get a university degree. I still don’t know what I want to study in the future. So far, what I like most is to be a home interior designer.”

Want to learn more about Ana?

If you think Ana would be a great match for your family, reach out to a Program Coordinator at today! For more information about hosting an exchange student, sign up for our upcoming Host Family Informational Webinar!

Read More